Educate Your Own

Educate Your Own (EYO) is an official fundraising campaign led by current WMI Student and Graduate Scholars to support one another by advocating for a zero-dropout rate among continuing students who are facing financial challenges. The campaign was introduced by WMI Graduate Scholar Johnson Abuto and adopted by his fellow peers in 2018. Together WMI Scholars are aiming to financially support five current student scholars with funds of upto $100 per student given once.

Purpose and Goal

The Educate Your Own initiative is our way as WMI Scholars who have and continue to benefit from the WMI Scholars Program to give the same opportunity to fellow deserving young person in the developing world. We want to supplement or top up the scholarship funds they are already being awarded by WMI. The ultimate goal of supporting our own is to ensure that the deserving scholars are able to continue their studies, graduate from university, and grow as people that create positive impact in the society. 

Participate Today!

All WMI Scholars are welcome to participate in this scholar-led initiative. As WMI Scholars, we are working to support one another through national fellowship involvement, mentorship, friendship, and also by combining our financial resources to enable other deserving students to actualize their dream of studying and earning a degree.

How to donate

To thrive this project, we accept donations of any amount from WMI Scholars who share interest
in the presented idea and are willing to support the initiative.

At this time, there are five ways to make a donation:

Once a donation has been made, the following information should be considered to facilitate easy identification of the donor and the allocation of the donated amount to its appropriate coffers. Follow up with an official mail to and the EYO leadership team at and include:

  1. The name of the sender.
  2. The country of the sender.
  3. Mobile phone contact (both WhatsApp and call with country codes; if they are not the same).
  4. Permission to publicly list your name on the EYO donor list.

*At this time EYO is only accepting donations from current WMI Scholars. If you are interested in helping to support very bright, academically successful, and committed young leaders continue with their education in developing nations, please consider donating directly to the Wells Mountain Initiative’s Scholar Program on the donate page.

Apply for EYO Scholarship

The 2022 application for EYO support is currently open only for WMI student scholars. The deadline to apply is June 30, 2022. If you have any questions, please email

Current EYO Leadership

The EYO fundraising campaign is managed by a team of current WMI Scholars. If you are interested in joining our team, please let us know!


paul omondi owuor

Graduate Scholar
Paul holds a bachelor's degree in nursing from the University of Kabianga and is currently working in a Mombasa referral hospital as a nurse manager. As a WMI Scholar, Paul has been very instrumental in the growth of the WMI Kenya Fellowship where he served as the chairperson from 2017-2021. Paul is very passionate about reproductive health and rights among girls and women and is the founder of the community-based organization GusoKenya. Furthermore, Paul also acts as the assistant secretary to the National Nurses Association of Kenya Mombasa branch, which is a member of the International Council of Nurses.

flavia nabagereka

Graduate Scholar
Flavia graduated with a diploma in pharmacy from the Uganda Institute of Allied Health and Management Sciences in 2015. She has since proceeded to self sponsor her studies at the Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply Chain Management for a professional course in procurement and will graduate in March 2022. She is employed as a pharmaceutical supply chain officer working with AIDS Health Foundation in Uganda. Flavia has been an active member of Fountains for Change - WMI Uganda Fellowship and has been the treasurer from 2018-present.

edwin boakai

Student Scholar
Edwin was selected as a WMI Student Scholar in 2021. He is a student of medical laboratory technology at Cepres International University and is also studying health science with an emphasis of public health online with the University of the People. In addition to his studies, he works as a lab technician at Sokaswa Medical Clinic. Edwin is the founder and executive director of Make the Children Smile Education Development Foundation which aims to provide access to early childhood education for children whose parents cannot afford their school fees. Edwin is excited to become an active member of the WMI Liberia Fellowship and engage in more WMI programs.

alexander osei

Graduate Scholar
Alexander is a recent alumnus of the bachelor of commerce program with a focus in accounting at the University of Cape Coast. As a student he served as the Head of Students' Academic Affairs and as a member of the Association of Business Students' Marketing and Publicity Committee for two years. He is currently the CEO of Possible Groups and is a published author of four tertiary books. Alexander received a WMI COVID-19 Community Response Grant in 2020. With this grant he prepared and presented online lectures for university students while their in-person studies were interrupted. He is also an active WMI Ghana Fellowship member.

A second level of leadership is provided by WMI Scholars who volunteer as country representatives. These individuals help to increase awareness, encourage donations from other scholars within their nations and provide updates to the EYO leadership team. Additional advising assistance is provided by WMI Staff when requested.

Become an EYO Representative

The EYO leadership team is currently seeking WMI Scholars to become EYO Representatives within their nation. An EYO Representative will be a champion of the EYO program, help raise awareness with other scholars and assist in fundraising efforts.

A Big Thank You to WMI Scholar Donors

The following WMI Scholars have contributed to the Educate Your Own Initiative:

  • Anne Marie Ndiaye, Nigeria
  • Jacquelyne Alesi, Uganda
  • Alpha Pokharel, Nepal
  • Bonny Mark Alinga, Uganda
  • David Ouma Otieno, Kenya
  • Jackline Anyango Ombura, Kenya
  • Johnson Abuto, Kenya
  • Leju Modi Benjamin, South Sudan
  • Loice Akinyi Ang’ienda, Kenya
  • Melisa Bhebe, Zimbabwe
  • Phiona Kituy, Uganda
  • Richard Duku, South Sudan
  • Sihlobo Khumalo, Zimbabwe

WMI Contact